Okay, so I read some reviews and ‘stuff’ and decided to give the DIABOLIK LOVERS series a try. So far only Vol. 1 is out and the character’s name is Ayato, a sadistic vampire like the rest in the series. I knew that the seiyuu was Hikaru Midorikawa who also voiced Tomoe, Yoh from Starry Sky but lets not get the two mixed up because that would be terrible, especially for me since well, let’s just say I got what I was looking for and not what I was looking for while listening to the CD.

If you were expecting the same, sweet, romantic character of Yoh from Starry Sky, think again, because you won’t be getting any more corny lines. You will be handled forcefully, sadistically, if anything more than violent. Your hands will be tied and you will be forced to drink unknown concoctions, and you’ll also be bitten multiple times against your will in the ‘guessing game.’

For the first couple of seconds I couldn’t take it so I paused it multiple times, all giggles. I should have known better.

I had to mentally prepare myself, I was probably all red, my mom was probably wondering why I was mumbling to myself and having uncontrollable fits of squeals and laughter in front of a dull computer screen. I must have looked dumb, but that wasn’t the end of it, unfortunately.

When I finished extracting the file, there was only one track, but then again I don’t think I could’ve handled more anyway. The track was, to be precise, 44 minutes and 33 seconds. All in one track. It was like the person who made the track decided they were too lazy to split it up, ruin the flow of the story, or wanted you to listen all the way through without stopping because you couldn’t ‘handle’ it.

Anyway, as it starts out Ayato stirs in his sleep and well lets just say that since you’re trapped with him in a locked iron maiden what else could you do but freak out and kick at the thing, constant bangings that will result in loud complaints from him. He will call you names using profanity I will warn you of that. I freaked out of course. Like, “Where’s my beloved Capricorn? What have you done to him?!” But if you were to ask me if I liked Yoh over Ayato, I would answer Ayato. I might be turning masochist. Aw, that’s bad.

His voice was to say the least, over the meter of what I think of as sexy. Like way over! His kisses, the bites, the way he teases, it wasn’t the Yoh I’m used to but in a way I can’t stay away from this other personality of him either. He wasn’t gentle in the way handled you, he seemed like an abuser at most, but I doubt girls would mind.

I only have one problem though, with the way he constantly bites you, well it seems over the top, you could probably end up dead from blood loss. Anyway, he called you a perverted girl or a lewd one because well… (ahem, he finds you attractive when you’re all bloody, hint hint) yeah, not going to say any thing that’ll ruin it. *CoughEroi-onnaCough*

He wasn’t a sadist for nothing. This track definitely proves the point of sadist. But Sweet Voices commented that his brothers, the others in the series, are even worse sadists. Now I’m kind of looking forward to listening to them. I really think I am becoming a masochist. And a part-time yandere. Really, these CDs are ruining my mind. I’m turning into someone else. I’m not me anymore.

I really don’t want to describe what happens in the CD too much because to fully enjoy it you need to listen to it. Not to mention, I’ll probably lose my sanity once I’m done. Warning.

I have now decided that Hikaru Midorikawa is my number one seiyuu! Other than that I don’t really have any preferences.

4 responses

  1. Ilinox says:

    Hi! I couldn’t help read this entire review, because I’m morbidly curious as to what other people thought about this drama CD (/ω\). It was so over-the-top and his abusive personality was really extreme, yet at the same time it was almost forgivable with how sexy his voice was.. yep.. these drama CDs with their dummy head mics definitely turn the listeners to people who they aren’t lol. I can’t believe they’re making a game out of this too..

    I also wanted to pop in to address the part where he calls you an “ero-onna”. If I remember correctly, I don’t think you say anything. Instead he was describing how the way your white skin was bleeding/covered in red and the way you were lying there all tied up and smelling delicious because of the juice was an invitation to him. 俺を誘ってじゃねえよ is the line he uses I think. Which actually pisses me off a bit because it reminds me of those sick creeps that are like “she was asking for it by wearing that skirt”, etc etc.

    On another note, I think Midorikawa Hikaru shot up on my seiyuu list as well xD;; I think this was his best drama cd voice yet (didn’t really like his Yoh voice). He does the low, sexy, teasing, sadistic voice very well (*ノ∀ノ).

  2. Risa Tsuyuki says:

    Yay! My first commenter, I’m so happy~ Oh, I’d have to agree with your thoughts on the CD as well, it did seem a bit too extreme, but I oddly find that … charming and wonderful in its own sense. I tell that to all my friends, anything weird has its own sense of wonderful. I’m glad that someone actually has time to read my thoughts. Yes, I also heard about the upcoming release of the game, but I’m afraid I don’t have time to play it, if you manage to get your hands on it I would love to read your reviews on it. Only if you have to time to review it of course I wouldn’t want to be of a bother to you.

    Oh, and I’m afraid I’m not a very good translator, I’m better than some of my friends but an amateur (noob) at most. I also have a one-track mind so while I was typing this, I was listening to another drama CD to calm myself down and well, I think I ended up following the flow of that CD instead. I wasn’t really thinking about the review, at most my brain was on cloud nine at the moment. I thank you for correcting my review, Senpai! I’ll edit it immediately!

    I understand your feelings about the seiyuu this is definitely a surprise to me, but once in a while I do prefer a change in character. This was a treat for me, though I was squealing my head off to the very end. Um, so thank you very much for stopping by! I’m sorry for so such a long post but I wanted to be able to get all my emotions across. Once again, thank you, Senpai! -bows- Um, can I call you that?

  3. Ilinox says:

    That’s a nice way of thinking~ that everything unique and odd in the world has its own wonders to show. I most likely will review the game since I’m so morbidly curious about it, so don’t worry you’re not being a bother. I actually like hearing about what games most people are curious about, because I like to think that my reviews actually help some of them. For people who can’t get the game or understand the language.

    No way, your translation of this was really good! I’m just lucky that I managed to hear that one part and it’s because I’ve listened to this CD a few times already. I didn’t understand much on my first go-through because I was blushing and giggling too much (๑→‿←๑).

    I have a feeling that Midorikawa Hikaru did other roles like this before. I think his Kannou Jikan one uses a low voice too (I’m not sure since I haven’t listened to that series)? My post was just as long so no worries <3. Ahh, I'm a bit embarrassed at being called that but you can if you want since I am older ww. It was nice meeting you~ and I'll probably be lurking around your blog as you review more drama CDs!

  4. Kurarisu says:

    Hello~! I can definitely see that you are charmed as well with Midorikawa Hikaru! X3 It’s such a surprise isnt it?! To think someone like Yoh could turn into such a smexy hot sadistic vampire.. MAJOR NOSEBLEED O///,,///O